Orchestre de Paris

“Klaus Mäkelä had only just launched the Orchestre de Paris in The Hebrides when one senses the big night ahead. In this maritime piece by Mendelssohn, which is more complex to perform than it seems, it is obvious: the sound of the orchestra, supple, full and natural, shows the bond of absolute confidence that the conductor and his musicians have succeeded in establishing in a short time. A little more than two hours later, at the end of the Alpine Symphony, we will not revise our judgment. Richard Strauss’s masterpiece blossomed in the Philharmonie’s great hall in about fifty minutes that seemed like ten …”

Bachtrack.com, Tristan Labouret, 22 November 2021

“A keen sense of mystery and expectation, a mastery of form and proportion, and an absolute culmination … Mäkelä really conducted the Alpine Symphony (with all the implications of the word ‘symphony’), not the Alpine Symphony, which would be a postcard. And he did so in total symbiosis, extraordinarily exhilarating, with transfixed musicians, and using the full scope of the acoustics of the Philharmonie de Paris.”

Diapason, Rémy Louis & Emmanuel Dupuy, 23 November 2021

Felix Mendelssohn: The Hebrides
Henri Dutilleux: Cello Concerto, Tout un monde lontain
Richard Strauss: Alpine Symphony
Soloist: Jean-Guihen Queyras