Klaus Mäkelä’s third season as Chief Conductor of the Oslo Philharmonic features 11 contrasting programmes, with repertoire ranging from Jean Baptiste Lully and Pietro Locatelli to Alban Berg and Icelandic composer, Anna Thorvaldsdottir. Highlights of the new season include a tour to the UK, Germany, Netherlands and Austria and a return to the studio for the next recording project for Decca Classics with a focus on the symphonies of Shostakovich.

Jean Sibelius: Tapiola
Franz Liszt: Piano Concerto No. 1
Richard Strauss: Ein Heldenleben
Soloist: Yuja Wang

Johann Sebastian Bach / Luciano Berio: Contrapunctus XIX
Alban Berg:  Violin Concerto
Gustav Mahler:  Symphony No. 5
Soloist: Isabelle Faust

Robert Schumann: Violin Concerto
Dmitri Shostakovich: Symphony No. 4
Soloist: Patricia Kopatchinskaya

Claude Debussy: Iberia
Jimmy López Bellido: Piano Concerto, Ephemerae
Igor Stravinsky: Petrushka
Manuel de Falla: The Three-Cornered Hat, Suite No. 2
Soloist: Javier Perianes

Igor Stravinsky: The Fairy’s Kiss: Divertimento
Béla Bartók: Rhapsody No. 1
Maurice Ravel: Tzigane
Anna Thorvaldsdottir: Metacosmos
Maurice Ravel: La Valse
Soloist: Daniel Lozakovich

Julia Perry: Short Piece for Orchestra
Dmitri Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No. 1
Pyotr Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6
Soloist: Sol Gabetta

Jean-Baptiste Lully: Marche pour la Ceremonie des Turcs
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 5
Louise Farrenc:  Overture No. 2
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 7
Soloist: Isabelle Faust

Peter Maxwell Davies
: 8 Songs for a Mad King
Hector Berlioz: Symphonie Fantastique
Soloist: Thomas Florio

MARCH 30 & 31
Ludwig van Beethoven: Missa solemnis

APRIL 27 & 28
Igor Stravinsky: Monumentum pro Gesualdo di Venosa ad CD annum
Carlo Gesualdo:  Four motets
Pietro Locatelli: Concerto No. 12, op. 3, “Il labirinto armonico”
Richard Strauss: Aus Italien
Soloists: Ilya Gringolts (violin) & The Norwegian Soloists’ Choir

MAY 25 & 26
Sergej Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 3
Dmitrij Shostakovich: Symphony No. 5
Soloist: Leif Ove Andsnes