Reviews  |  

Cleveland Orchestra

“… the large body of musicians dug deep into their physical resources, producing a Rite that was singularly explosive and terrifying in its power … Mäkelä’s pacing with its subtle tempo changes moved Stravinsky’s music from one section to another, all the while allowing an enormous arch to emerge that is frequently lacking in performances. The conductor built the work to a formidable climax, inspiring an equally tremendous response from the audience.”, Daniel Hathaway, 23 April 2024

“Conductor Mäkelä and the orchestra painted a vivid picture …  a powerful performance”, Laura Kennelly, 24 April 2024

Darius Milhaud: Le Boeuf sur le toit
George Gershwin: Concerto in F
Igor Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring
Soloist: Jean-Yves Thibaudet