Reviews  |  


“In Mahler’s exhilarating Sixth Symphony, both Mäkelä and the orchestra pulled out all the stops  … It was a Mahler full of melodiousness and testosterone; fierce and earthy, in the heavenly vistas less ethereal than imaginable … The final movement, with its nightmarish harps and deadly knocks, was ominous and overwhelming.”

NRC, Mischa Spel, 20 August 2022

“Have we ever heard a more beautiful and lyrical Adagio? In Mäkelä’s incredibly emotional interpretation, the notes rose far above absolute perfection …  he modelled the dark beginning of the last movement in such a varied and magnificent way that unexpected colours became audible.”

Trouw, Peter van der Lint, 21 August 2022

Kaija Saariaho: Orion
Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 6