Reviews  |  

Münchner Philharmoniker

“An ovation for Lisa Batiashvili, who, together with Mäkelä and the orchestra, which was rhythmically and tonally very alert at every moment under his clear direction, impressively fulfilled Shostakovich’s concerto in all aspects, from deep sadness and bleak bitterness to crass outbursts of rage and wild raging …

And then Mahler’s First: Klaus Mäkelä, with all the versatility of his body language, never lost the overview; he and his musicians, animated by symphonic spirit, captivated everyone: from the magical symphonic opening – “like a sound of nature” – through the Scherzo, which went from deceptive to sarcastic, to the tender grotesqueness of the double-bass solo (bravo!) of the slow movement and its dreamlike delusions to the finale that exploded in all facets in the finest way – it was a phenomenal experience. Those who were there will never forget it.”

Süddeutsche Zeitung, Harald Eggebrecht, 16 June 2022

Sauli Zinovjev: Batteria
Dmitri Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No. 1
Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 1
Soloist: Lisa Batiashvili