Reviews  |  

Orchestre de Paris

“Playing two hits from the repertoire, pairing them with two pieces for solo strings and making an exciting evening of it is a consummate art of programming. By opening the concert with Fugue and Grave in G minor, a very rare piece by Hasse … Klaus Mäkelä shows a deep musical knowledge without being gratuitous. With forty strings, he turns this piece, already archaic for its time, into a fascinating object, a kaleidoscope of nuances and expressions. Under his baton, the contrapuntal writing becomes a playground for the musicians of the Orchestre de Paris with a very united and luminous sound, without any heaviness, with a theatricality of great style.” 

Altamusica, 13 February 2022

“It is not often that one remembers hearing such a dramatic, even dazzling, vision of Mozart’s masterpiece  … The musicians are at one with their conductor, reacting instantly to the slightest impulse.”

Diapason, Rémy Louis, 16 February 2022

Johann Adolf Hasse: Fugue et grave
Johannes Brahms: Violin Concerto
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Adagio and Fugue
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony No. 41 “Jupiter”
Soloist: Isabelle Faust