Reviews  |  

Orchestre de Paris

“A concert that showed a rare intelligence of conception, even if the composers paired together did not seem to have an obvious relationship. Often, programmes seem to be made up of bits and pieces, with clichéd titles that try to give a why or how to the works proposed. But, for this concert by the Orchestre de Paris with its charismatic conductor Klaus Mäkelä, everything fitted together and converged towards a subtle end. From Mozart’s Masonic Funeral Music at the outset to the oppressive Adagio of Mahler’s 10th Symphony, it was like a descent, if not into Hell, then at least into a deep awareness of an uncertain future., Jacqueline Thuilleux, 18 March 2022 

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Masonic Funeral Music
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 22
Thomas Larcher: Symphony No. 2., Cénotaphe
Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 10. Adagio
Soloist: Leif Ove Andsnes