Reviews  |  

Orchestre de Paris, Granada Festival

“We heard a version (of Dvorak Symphony No. 9) that was exquisitely atmospheric, intense and narrative … And the sonorous vigour and preciousness did not diminish one iota in the Allegro con fuoco finale, where Mäkelä was able to link the synthesis of thematic elements with the Orchestre de Paris in this most joyful and dazzling interpretation.”

Scherzo, Pablo Rodriguez, 12 July 2021

“In Ravel’s Le tombeau de Couperin we witnessed a display of small subtleties of all kinds, mainly timbral … In a repertoire so familiar to him, Mäkelä succeeded in getting the Orchestre de Paris to play a personal, finely-drawn Ravel … In Dvořák, what characterises Mäkelä’s conducting became even clearer: he tends to concentrate on very specific details, without ever neglecting the whole, because he manages to handle the orchestra with astonishing ease … “

El Pais, Luis Gago, 12 July 2021

Maurice Ravel: Pavane pour une infante défunte
Max Bruch: Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor
Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 9, From the New World
Soloist: Daniel Lozakovich