Reviews  |  

Orchestre de Paris on tour

“Klaus Mäkelä presented Stravinsky’s musical fairy tale (The Firebird) as a largely lyrical play of tonal colours, finally firing up the finale with razor-sharp, controlled discharges of power.”

Der Standard, Christoph Irrgeher, 20 November 2023

“Great sensitivity, deep sensuality and dazzling beauty of sound were also the advantages of Maurice Ravel’s “Shéhérazade” at the beginning. And Igor Stravinsky’s “L’oiseau de feu” was “told” with colorful sophistication and rich, sometimes extremely sharp contrasts and great tension.”

Kurier, Helmut Christian Mayer, 19 November 2023

“As a conductor, you have to have a lot of skill to make this work fully unfold its effect even without a stage. But as differentiated as Mäkelä’s approach to this score was with his musicians, who performed in different ways, it still took some time before the music emerged in all its magical power and rousing splendour.”

Die Presse, Walter Dobner, 20 November 2023

Maurice Ravel: Shéhérazade – Fairy Overture
Camille Saint-Saëns: Piano Concerto No. 5 (The Egyptian)
Igor Stravinsky: The Firebird (version 1910)
Soloist: Alexandre Kantorow


Chief Conductor & Artistic Advisor

   Music Director & Artistic Director

                  Artistic Partner
     Chief Conductor (from 2027/28)