Reviews  |  

Oslo Philharmonic

“Throughout the symphony (Shostakovich Symphony No. 5), Mäkelä has a fierce drive forward with violent climaxes and biting sarcasm. In the slow third movement, which can often stall, it is the lyrical nerve of the strings that drives the music forward.”

Aftenposten, Aksel Dalmo, 28 May 2023

“Mäkelä focused a lot of attention on the Oslo strings and they played with high energy, but also great tenderness in the beautiful elegy that opens the third movement. He built the long crescendo expertly, turning the screw steadily until a sense of desolation returned. It’s always interesting to hear how conductors approach the finale: as triumph or as stoic resignation? Mäkelä pitched it somewhere in between, the repeated string notes at the end – some 252 times! – having a determined, battle-hardened quality, up for the challenge rather than celebrating victory too soon. The massed brass sound was overwhelming here. Mäkelä is no gung-ho leader, but a strategic general, marshalling his troops to cap a gripping account.”, Mark Pullinger, 26 May 2023

Sergej Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No. 3
Dmitri Shostakovich: Symphony No. 5
Soloist: Leif Ove Andsnes