Reviews  |  

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

“Only the greats can have so much ‘new’ and unique things to say about such a flatly played piece (as Mussorgsky’s Pictures from an Exhibition). In every part, Mäkelä managed to reveal unsuspected details, with the brilliant orchestra always as his excellent instrument. And when we arrived in amazement at The Great Gate of Kiev, the orchestral floodgates opened at exactly the right time. You felt moved by a performance by a legendary maestro from the past.”

Trouw, Peter van der Lint, 13 January 2024

“Mäkelä and the musicians beautifully highlighted Ravel’s brilliant orchestral discoveries (trumpet, saxophone, bassoon, tuba) and turned the walk past the paintings into a dream from which you did not want to wake up.”

NRC Handelsblad, Joost Galema, 12 January 2024

Hawar Tawfiq: M.C. Escher’s imagination
Manuel de Falla: Nights in the Gardens of Spain
Modest Mussorgsky (arr. Ravel): Pictures at an Exhibition
Soloist: Javier Perianes