Reviews  |  

Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra

“Anchored by a medieval-sounding Dorian mode, gradually emerging from a very simple, four-descending-keys motif played in the first three bars by the second violins, Sibelius’ Sixth Symphony is not exactly the shiny vahana that young maestros prefer for displaying their exquisite technique. Mäkelä went beyond the somehow misleading four-parts structure of the work, underlining the unifying motivic material and the vagueness of key progressions. He carefully painted the myriad slowly shifting shades of grey and the ambiguous rhythmic patterns … (and) constantly avoided grand musical gestures, accentuating gracefulness instead … Demonstrating i a deep affinity for the difficult music of his compatriot and already mastering a comprehensive repertoire list, Mäkalä is a conductor whose performances should not be missed.”

Bachtrack.comEdward Sava-Segal

“Helt logiskt att utan paus fortsätta vidare in i Symfoni nr 7 … något år efter uruppförandet av nr 6. I C-dursymfonin balanseras eleganta fraser i träblås och duggande stråkar ovanpå skulpterade vattenmassor; ett ljust och evigt “nu” i bläckblåset dekoreras med en mosaik av glödande färger och vibrerande pukklanger. Det blir smältande poesi när Mäkelä och Sveriges Radios symfoniorkester samlar in all jordens böner till en enda, kraftfull röst.”

“It is completely logical to continue without a break into Symphony No. 7 … In the C major symphony, elegant phrases are balanced in woodwinds and dripping strings on top of sculpted bodies of water; a bright and eternal “now” in the inkblot is decorated with a mosaic of glowing colors and vibrant timpani. It becomes melting poetry when Mäkelä and the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra amass all the earth’s prayers into a single, powerful voice.”

Svenska Dagbladet, Sofia Nyblom

Schumann: Konzertstück for four horns and orchestra, Op.86
Sibelius: Symphony no. 6 in D minor
Sibelius: Symphony no. 7 in C major